Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It rained last night; pools of water have collected on garden chairs and in pockets in the stone paving of the garden patio. At 6 in the morning these little puddles are ice cold against my bare toes. I quickly head back into the warmth of the kitchen, ready for my first cup of coffee; a quick catch up on the news and a mental check list of my work schedule for the day.

It is almost midday and lunch is what quickly comes to mind; it will be lunch for one today so something quick will do; grilled tomato, mozzarella and thyme is just what I want. I eat this with some crusty bread while I mull over the rest of my schedule.

This dish can be served as a starter or a light meal.. if you wish you could also add a few strips of bacon.

clip_image002

Ingredients

1 large beef tomato

1 ball fresh buffalo mozzarella

Sprig of fresh lemon thyme

Salt

Pepper

Olive oil

Garnish, a sprig of lemon thyme

Method

Cut off the core part of the tomato (this forms the flat base to keep it in position).Make four or 5 slices across the top of the tomato but don’t cut all the way through, gently press the slices open. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and bits of fresh thyme. Insert pieces of mozzarella and sprinkle with a little more salt and pepper.

Pop under the grill for about 5 minutes. Serve drizzled with fresh olive oil and garnish with some lemon thyme.

Serve with some crusty bread.

Tip: you could also use freshly chopped sage in place of the thyme.

